The George Ewart Evans Centre for Storytelling (GEECS) has an experienced staff, a growing number of research students, and a truly international profile working with partners across the globe.

Centre Director

Prof Emily Underwood-Lee
Prof Roiyah Saltus

Centre Directors Emeritus

Prof Joseph Sobol
Prof Hamish Fyfe
Prof Mike Wilson
Karen Lewis

Steering Group

Dr Jodie Allinson
Prof Barry Atkins
Prof Florence Ayisi
Carol Hiles
Dr Elizabeth Lloyd-Parkes
Dr James Lea, Senior Lecturer in Music, Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
Dr Marta Minier, Children's Literature Lead
Dr Rebecca Williams
Dr Sarah Wallace
Prof Diana Wallace

Visiting Fellows

Dr Steve Killick
Daniel Morden
Dr Leah Salter


Dr Catherine Camps
Dr Michael Carklin
Prof Paul Carr
Dr Denis Cryer Lennon
Prof Jonathan Deacon
Prof Alice Entwistle
Steve Fisher
Heledd Hardy
Julie Kissick
Dr Eileen Little
Dr Ian McNish
Prof Kevin Mills
Dr Christina Papagiannouli
Prof Linda Ross
Leonie Sharrock
Dr Rob Smith
Philippa Watkins
Matt White
Dr Jonathan Wynne Evans

All research active USW academic staff at any career stage are welcome to apply for Centre membership. If you would like to become a member of the George Ewart Evans Centre for Storytelling please send an email giving a brief description of your research interests and experiences in not more than 150 words and a short statement outlining what you hope to gain from Centre membership to [email protected]. All expressions of interest are reviewed by the Centre steering group.

External Members

Prof Richard Hand
Dr Patrick Ryan
Dr David Llewellyn

Visiting Researchers

Nicole Matthews (2013) 
Anna Camps (2011)
Joseph Sobol (2009)