About Us

The George Ewart Evans Centre for Storytelling at the University of South Wales is dedicated to promoting, teaching, developing and researching storytelling in all its forms. The Centre was launched in April 2005 by Prof Hamish Fyfe and Prof Mike Wilson.

The Centre consolidates and builds upon the University’s existing strengths in storytelling and is named after the socialist and oral history pioneer George Ewart Evans, who was born and raised in the former mining community of Abercynon, a stone’s throw from the University’s Treforest campus.

Storytelling is both a unique art form and a valuable tool for promoting understanding and communication. Its uses range from health care to working with disadvantaged communities, from social work to oral history. We believe storytelling should be instrumental in enhancing inclusion, social justice and cultural life at individual, local, national and international levels. Our work contributes to the development of storytelling, raises public and civic awareness of storytelling, and challenges cultural values and social assumptions.

The George Ewart Evans Centre for Storytelling (GEECS) has an experienced staff, a growing number of research students, and a truly international profile working with partners across the globe.


Core Team

Prof Joseph Sobol, Centre Director
Dr Emily Underwood-Lee, Centre Research Fellow

Centre Directors Emeritus

Prof Hamish Fyfe
Prof Mike Wilson
Karen Lewis

Steering Group

Prof Barry Atkins
Prof Florence Ayisi
Dr Alice Entwistle
Prof Kevin Mills
Dr Marta Minier
Dr Roiyah Saltus

Reducing Industrial Carbon Emissions

William Gold, Project Associate, Reducing Industrial Carbon Emissions

Visiting Prof

Prof Mike Wilson

Visiting Fellows

Dr Steve Killick
Daniel Morden


Dr Jodie Allinson
Dr Catherine Camps
Michael Carklin
Prof Paul Carr
Melody Cranbourne-Rosser
Prof Jonathan Deacon
Steve Fisher
Dr Anne Fothergill
Dr Sharif Gemie
Dr Nicky Genders
Heledd Hardy
Julie Kissick
Dr Eileen Little
Dr Elizabeth Lloyd-Parkes
Dr Christina Papagiannouli
Dr Ceri Price
Dr Hilary Ramsden
Dr Linda Ross
Leonie Sharrock
Dr Rob Smith
Philippa Watkins
Dr Rebecca Williams
Dr Rhiannon Williams
Matt White
Dr Jonathan Wynne Evans

All research active USW academic staff at any career stage are welcome to apply for Centre membership. If you would like to become a member of the George Ewart Evans Centre for Storytelling please send an email giving a brief description of your research interests and experiences in not more than 150 words and a short statement outlining what you hope to gain from Centre membership to emily.underwood-lee@southwales.ac.uk. All expressions of interest are reviewed by the Centre steering group.

External Members

Prof Chris Morris
Prof Richard Hand
Dr Patrick Ryan
Dr David Llewellyn

Post Graduate Student Members

Denis Cryer Lennon
Jeanette D’Arcy
Nadine Khair
Miranda Quinney
Alex Walker

Visiting Researchers

Nicole Matthews (2013) 
Anna Camps (2011)
Joseph Sobol (2009)

If there is anything you would like to know more about please contact us at storytelling@southwales.ac.uk.